Flickr - CBP Photography

Flickr - CBP Photography

New York City has seven Heliports: three for general use and located on Manhattan piers, two owned by the police, and one at each of the area’s airports. Helicopters may fly in the designated “fly zone” between Governor’s Island and Roosevelt Island below 1,500 feet as long as they announce their presence on a designated radio frequency (123.075 MHz). In 2010, Manhattan’s three general use heliports accommodated 212,317 passengers on 62,353 flights.

The New York City Economic Development Corporation, in partnership with the Eastern Region Helicopter Council, addresses concerns of local community and elected officials regarding helicopter sightseeing flights from the Downtown Manhattan Heliport through the New York City Helicopter Sightseeing Plan.

Tweets about NYC helicopters
#NYCHelicopter on Instagram



Federal Aviation Administration, Airport Data.

Google Maps

Moss, Mitchell L. and O’Neill Hugh. “Heliports and Their Importance to New York City.” 2012.

New York City, “Noise from Helicopter.”

Rousseau, Steve. “Can Anyone Land at New York City’s Heliports?Popular Mechanics. October 5, 2011.